Spotlight

Terrific film!!  I loved the Danish Girl but Spotlight is by far the best of the two.  The movie is based on real life events that occurred in Boston in 2001. A team of journalist from the Boston Globe known as Spotlight blew the whistle on the massive child molestation scandal covered up by the local Catholic Church in Boston.  There are many poignant scenes in the movie, especially when the survivors have to recount in detail what happened to them. I don’t want to give too much away but the narrative, the acting and how the story unfolds until the end will keep you interested and never bored.  I hope the film industry continues to make movies of this caliber.  It’s time for Hollywood to leave behind the inane slapstick comedies, useless action films and romantic comedies that have been overdone for too long. I applaud this film for taking a stand on such a sensitive and  controversial subject.  I know the Academy Awards is mainly a popularity contest and has very little to do with real talent but I will be very disappointed if this film is not nominated for Best film.

Another thing that caught my attention in this film was this line regarding Boston ; “This city has a way of making  you feel like you don’t belong”.  Personally I find this statement true.  The few times I visited Boston I always felt like an outsider.  I never felt that in Chicago, New York, San Francisco or LA.  It is a nice city but I don’t see myself living in a place where my ethnicity determines my value as a person.

 

Leave a Reply

